Tirupati, 16 December 2016: The Honourable CM of AP Sri N Chandra Babu Naidu poured in heaps of praise on TTD-run Balaji Institute of Surgery, Research and Rehabilitation for the Disabled (BIRRD) terming it as Asia’s numero uno state-of-art orthopaedic hospital extending quality treatment to the poor and needy.

The Head of the state was here in temple city of Tirupati on Friday to inaugurate the new additional block of BIRRD hospital constructed by TTD at a cost of Rs.43.8cr. Speaking on this occasion, the Chief Minister said, the hospital was launched in the year 1985 at the holy feet of Lord Venkateswara to offer best free ortho medical treatment by the then Honourable Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh late Sri Nandamuri Taraka Rama Rao.

“In the span of 3 decades this unique Orthopaedic centre has not only extended its services to the patients of Andhra Pradesh but also entire India. Today it has emerged as Asia’s best ortho ailments treating hospital. I compliment the Director Dr Jagdeesh and his team of doctors and medical fraternity for this credit. I wish the new building will ensure further enhanced medical treatment to the needy”, he added.

Later the CM visited Operation Theatres, Laboratory, Radiology Department, modern Artificial Limb Fitting Centre, Physiotherapy Department, X-Ray department, Central Drug stores etc. He also interacted with the patients who are undergoing medicare in this hospital.

Honourable CM of AP Sri N Chandrababu Naidu on Friday handed over artificial limbs to ailing patients.

Sri Vijay Yadav from Bihar who has lost his right hand was given artificial limb for the same. While Sri Raghuveera from Vizag and Ms Padmaja from Kuppam who had amputated right above knee were given above knee hitech modular prosphesis while Sri Bala Subramanyam who lost his right leg below knee was given artificial limb for the same.

All the patients thanked the CM and TTD for these services for the benefit of poor and needy.

Ministers Sri Manikyala Rao, Sri K Sreenivas, Sri B Gopala Krishna Reddy, TTD Trust Board Chairman Dr Ch Krishnamurthy, TTD EO Dr D Sambasiva Rao, JEOs Sri KS Sreenivasa Raju, Sri Pola Bhaskar, MLA Smt Sugunamma, TTD Trust Board Members Sri AV Ramana, Sri Sudhakar Yadav, Sri Bhanuprakash Reddy, Dr Hariprasad, Sri Narsa Reddy, Chief Engineer Sri Chandrasekhar Reddy, SE Sri Ramesh Reddy, EE Sri Jaganmohan Reddy and others took part.