Tirumala, 22 September 2015: Papinos and Ice guava from Thailand and Grapes from California were the main attraction of the Snapana Thirumanjanam ritual conducted in the Srivari temple as part of the Brahmotsavam event at hill shrine of Tirumala.

69 kgs of 12 varieties of flowers were used for the flower decoration of the Ranganayakula Mandapam the spot of the ritual giving it an ambience of a flower garden, the choicest spot of Lord Venkateswara. ‘Snapana Thirumanjanam ritual is hall mark of this Brahmotsavam-2015 as we have received exotic flowers and fruits from overseas through donors‘ says the TTD Executive Officer Dr D Sambasiva Rao who participated in the event with his spouse.

The flower canopy overhead of the platform of Utsava idols of Malayappaswami, his consorts Sridevi and Bhoodevi was decked up with roses, jasmines, marigold ,kanakambara and other tulips.’The bright crème and rosy flower canopy enhanced the divinity of the idols and also the richness of the rituals ‘says the agama advisor of TTD who performed the ritual.

The garlands and kiratam (crown) of the celestial deities were made of plums, Litchi fruit, cardamom,dried grapes, orchids, Vattiveru, Kuruveru, Amla fruit and dates besides wild fruits of Thailand – Papinos and Ice guava. ‘The exotic flowers and fruits occupy a prime place in decorations of Brahmotsavam festival , says S Srinivasulu, the garden superintendent of the TTD.

The entire venue was decked up with marigold, jasmine, roses and also kanakambara flowers amidst green tulsi leaves as and other green foliage used as background.

While a host of vedic pundits chanted the glory and significance of the ritual and praise of Lord Venkateswara’s contribution for world peace and prosperity, the traditional temple musical instruments were sounded along with drums to signal the crescendo of the holy and hoary day Thirumanjanam.

Chairman Dr Ch Krishnamurthy, Executive Officer Dr D Sambasiva Rao, Joint Executive Officer Sri K.S.Sreenivasa Raju, SP (URBAN) Sri Gopinath Jatti, CV&SO Sri Nagendra Kumar, Board Members Smt Suchithra Ella, Sri AV Ramana, Sri G Bhanuprakash Reddy, ACVSO Sri Sivakumar Reddy, DyEO Temple Sri Chinnamgari Ramana, Peishkar Sri R.Selvam, Parpathyedar Sri Ajay and others were present.